Everything You Need to Know



This is everything you need to know as a new vegetarian!

Types of Vegetarians:

Semi vegetarian: eats no red meat, but may eat poultry or fish.  Semi vegetarians might also eat fish only, or eat meat very rarely.
Ovo-Lacto vegetarian: eats no meat or fish, but still eats animal products like eggs and milk.
Lacto vegetarian: eats no meat, fish, or eggs, but still eats milk products.
Vegan: eats no meat, fish, or any animal products like eggs or milk.  
Strict vegan: does not consume or wear any products that come from animals (e.g., leather, fur, wool)

Common Reasons For Being Vegetarian:
Compassion for animals
Health
Environment
Religion
Taste
Allergies/sensitivities to meat

Items that are not vegetarian:
Gelatin: found in things such as marshmallows, yogurt, mints, cereals, and many others.  Made of crushed animal bones, skins, or horse hooves.  
Rennet: found in cheeses, sometimes labeled "enzymes".  Many cheese brands use vegetable enzymes.  Most Sargento cheeses are vegetarian.
Carmine Cochineal: a red food coloring that comes from bugs.
Lard: animal fat, found in refried beans.  Taco Bell does not use lard in their beans.  
Animal Shortening: animal fat sometimes found in processed foods.

Sources of Protein:
~Milk
~Cheese
~Yogurt
~Ice cream 
~Dairy Products
~Soy milk**
~Rice milk**
~Coconut milk**
~Nuts**
~Peanut butter and other nut butters**
~Eggs
~Beans**
~Tofu, Textured Vegetable Protein, Tempeh, and other meat substitutes**
~Wheat germ**
~Vegetables**

Most teens need 45-60 grams of protein daily.  
**vegan source

Techniques for going vegetarian:
Overnight: For this method, it is recommended to pick a date to start.
Eliminating slowly (option one): Eliminate one type of meat at a time, going at whatever pace you are comfortable with.
Eliminating slowly (option two): Slowly stop eating meat, going at whatever pace you are comfortable with.  

Some helpful sources:
Websites: 

Books: